I remember Bruce Busbee saying that RM 8 does not require the user to “save” data; it is done automatically by the program when closing the window. However, I have discovered there are some cases where that is not true. Having put extensive data under a fact “Griffiths”, then returning to that person and finding nothing under “Griffiths”. I put it in again, closed the panel, then returned to look at the individual. Again, the input was missing. The third time i realized there was a checkmark at the top of the panel. Clicking on it brought up the “save” command. When and where do we have to look for that “checkmark” at the top of the page? This is very confusing.
My present RM8 project is to investigate this very issue. I don’t yet have a definitive answer. I think Bruce’s statement is substantially correct, but I also believe there are a few complications which makes things less simple than you might wish. I’m especially curious at exactly what point newly entered data is saved and at exactly what point or points you can actually cancel out without saving. Nothing in Bruce’s demos nor in any of the RM8 documentation addresses this issue. Every time I start running tests to determine what the exact rules are for saving vs. cancelling out, I seem to get contradictions where results are not completely repeatable.
For one example, neither the Save icon nor the Cancel icon in the Edit Note window seem to do anything. You can actually cancel out of a change to a change to a note, but the way you do it has nothing to do with the Cancel icon in the Edit Note window. That seems very strange.
I would be curious if you could describe the exact steps you go through when newly entered data is not saved - exactly which panels, exactly which data, exactly how did you exit out of the panels, etc. I would love to see if I can replicate your results. I do realize you are more worried about lost Saves than you are about when and how you can Cancel out. But I suspect the two issues are closely related.
I have experienced a similar issue in RM12. I have created new tasks with a title, creation date, Status. Priority, Goal, and Results (which I use on an In Progress task to track my activity on the task) and have verified the creation of the task by a review of the Task List where it will appear along with other tasks that I created during that session. At the end of the day, I close the app, either by closing the file under the File menu, then closing the app at the “X” in the upper right hand corner of the app frame (I haven’t located a more graceful Logout or Signout option anywhere that would save all transactions during the session, close the database or databases, and close out the RM app). When I reopen the app and select the same database, the tasks I created during the last session do not appear in the Task List. I have noticed the same phenomenon after removing unused Places or after merging duplicate Source Citations. Advice? Is there a Save function that I am skipping?
RM will save as you go. The first thing I would look for is that you are opening the correct database, especially if things seem to be disappearing.
I have seen some weird scenario in past versions but have not replicated.
If you are still active in field that may not be updated but in most cases the rest should. Most Sqlie type database I work with at work have the same process but it get more complicated in the scenario because there could be rules that prevent the save – not sure if RM has any such scenarios
@msdougherty1 --as Renee said, it doesn’t matter as RM saves as you go BUT when you close out of your database ( if you only have 1 open) in RM-- click on the X in the upper RIGHT Corner-- y6ou will get a pop up that says Back Up or Skip BackUP-- Pick one
Once it is done, the file and RM both close at the same time and it saved everything if you hit backup-- if you hit skip backup, the info is still there just not save to back up..
Now that said, I did exactly what you said you did and even closed my file the way you said and all the tasks were saved for me --I will note that only one of the 3 tasks made was done under a person-- the other 2 generated under the task icon-- so only 1 is accessed under the person-- all 3 are accessed under the task icon
I have only created one database, with a recent backup. I only have one database to choose to open.
I have only created one database. When I close with the X, RM behaves as you described (Backup or Skip Backup).
Prior to closing, when I review the contents of the Task List, the tasks I added appear as individual Tasks. When deleting duplicate Citations, the total number of Citations is a smaller number than when I started. After closing the database and the app, the next time I open the app and database, it may have the smaller total, but after a few days, the original larger count of Citations reappears. It is unsettling.
does the unexpected #s only seem to be for citations?
Also have you run all the db tools?
In addition to Citations, I’ve seen Places that I deleted, reappear after shutting down the app, and restarting and opening the database. Oddly, though, these issues are not consistent from day to day or session to session.
I have compacted the database and recreated the indexes.
Thanks.
In previous versions – I have had merge place not merged on first attempt – though I was not able to replicate that one demand. I have not noticed them later appearing.
If that continues it might be worth opening a ticket and send to Support
EDIT
As Jerry mentions – if you DB is in the cloud in away that can cause those issuses
Are you running OneDrive?
I realize your database is in your Documents folder, but OneDrive can take control of your Documents folder.
