RM File Structure Defined

I’m upgrading to RM9 on my iMac. Is there a discussion of file management for RM? I’m new to RM, and would like to better understand how RM stores data. as I think I may have erred in my setup(s).

In my “Documents” folder, without a sub-folder, there are two sets of <MillerFT (‘date’).rmgb> files. MillerFT is my basic file, my 1st one named “Miller FT” and the second, a new one “MillerFTApril21”. I assume these are my data sets. Then there is a <MillerFTApril21.rmgc> file…not sure what this is.

Also, under a sub-folder named “MillerFTApril21_media” in Documents, there are ~260 media files.

There is a second sub-folder “RootsMagic8” containing a file <MillerFTApril21.rmtree>.

I did originally buy the RM8 older version, then upgraded to the new fully MAC upgrade. And now, getting ready to install RM9.

The different file types to me, a “newbie” wishing to use RM more extensively, are confusing.

Do I set up a sub-folder for my upgraded RM9 tree? what is the difference between .rmgb and .rmgc files? Will a new Media file get set up for RM9. What is the .rmtree folder?

I wish there was a dissertation on how these structures are setup and what they accomplish. I am a bit cautious to setup RM9 before I go ahead and possibly make things even more messed up!

1 Like

There are only really three things to worry about. The .rmtree file(s) are your database(s) for RM8/RM9, the .rmgc file(s) are RM7 database(s). The _media folder is where you media should be (to keep things simple, although it’s not mandatory). Last is the .rmgb/.rmbackup files which are backups of your databases from RM7/RM8-9 respectively. If you’re using RM9 now the .rmgc/.rmgb files won’t be updated any more but you may want to move them somewhere for safekeeping.

I personally have a layout like this:
Documents:
Documents:Rootsmagic
Documents:Rootsmagic:mainrmdb.rmtree
Documents:Rootsmagic:mainrmdb.rm8 (copy of RM8 db renamed to .rm8 before conversion)