I am using treeshare to move data and people from Ancestry to RM9. I have the hints option set not to remove people from the changed list after accepting changes.
I have just updated some data for Sir Rupert Charles Hart-Davis and accepted changes. He still appears on the screen which is filtered only to show changed people and there is still an x at the top right to mark him as not changed. This is as expected.
I next want to update Adelaide Hart-Davis
After struggling through the 43 clicks needed to update her data and add new events, her spouse and her children, I am left with this
She still appears on the screen, as expected, so that I can enter her marriage, but now all of her children have disappeared from the “changed list” at the right.
One of these children married Phyllis Mary Whipple.
If I add her, she too disappears from the “changed list”. I have no chance to add her marriage to her husband.
Another of the children married Elizabeth Margaret Comer
To add her and her marriage in RM7, I would first unclick the filter to only show people on the “changed list”. The focus would remain on her. I could then add her, with the focus remaining on her, so that I could add her marriage too and finally re-instate the filter on changed people so that I could move on to the next person. However, in RM9, if I unclick the filter, the focus moves to the first alphabetical record in the database; I need to re-key her name to find her record and add her and her marriage.
I need to do this for every couple whose marriage I need to add. Luckily, I have now found a workaround using the ‘recently changed’ group that I posted about yesterday. But for this group, I would say that the process for adding people from Ancestry to RM9 via treeshare was unusable because of the near certainty of missing marriages.
At the very least, RM needs to
Alter the behaviour of the 'not remove from “changed list” option, so that people added to RM are not removed from the “changed list” when added and
Alter the behaviour of the Treeshare index so that (as in RM7) the same person remains selected when you remove the filter on changed people.
It would also be good to move the ‘remove from “changed list” …’ option to the main treeshare screen so that the user can turn it on and off in the middle of updating RM or Ancestry.
Ideally, RM would a) allow spouses and marriages to be added in a single operation and b) when people are added to RM, intelligently keep them on/remove them from the changed list depending on whether they still had a marriage to be added.