Never Married data

I am new to RM. Running RM8. What is best way to mark a person as “Never Married” so it is not confused with missing data?

I usually write it in the Description field at the Death or Occupation. Depends what details you may have.

I use two different ways. I have a group called ‘NeverMarried’ which I add the people to. This may not be quite as obvious when looking at your data, and it isn’t going to print out on reports, so I also have a custom fact called ‘Marriage (N)’ which has a sentence template that reads something like ‘Ken never married’. The latter method can easily be seen when looking at edit screens for those people.

I also do a similar thing for people who had no children.

In both cases, one wants to make sure that there really was no marriage or no kids, not just that you weren’t able to find a marriage or children for them.

7 Likes

Another advantage of a custom fact type as described by @kfunk is the ease with which it can be used as a criterion for searching, colour coding, grouping, report filtering and can be the subject of a Fact List report.

Another approach which could be useful would be a custom fact type which I’ll call “hashtags” into whose Description field or even Note one could enter in any order and quantity descriptive tags such as #nevermarried, #nokids, #brickwall, #unconnected

5 Likes

This is actually something that I have considered doing but have found myself too lazy to actually do. A very useful aspect of this is that it would allow me to eliminate about 6 or 8 other custom facts that I use as ‘flags’. When I was making some notes on this topic, ‘Flags’ was what I planned to call it, however I like ‘Hashtags’ even better.

1 Like

I created an Unmarried fact; the descriptive text says [person] never married

3 Likes