Need help converting a file please

Hi. I’m new to this program and community. My cousin had paid $700 for a narrative file from a genealogist in the Azores. He sent her a chart instead, which is not in the format to which she’s used to working with on ancestry. She requested the narrative report again and would delete the chart. Even though it’s the same information, she just needed it in a different format that made sense to her. The genealogist never responded again. I signed up today and hopes to help my cousin get what she needs but I’m having trouble and trying to convert the file and I’m hoping you all can help. Thank you in advance for your kindness.

If you get a GEDCOM file from them, you can import to RootsMagic.

1 Like

Thank you. But her tree and the genealogist information have different data and goes further back then what she already has. She and I spent all day today trying to get around the excel sheet that is 560 pages long and get it out of the chart format. We’ve watched videos and googled until we couldn’t see straight anymore. I honestly have a migraine at the moment. We need help. $700 is a lot of money and he didn’t give her the correct format.

If all you have is a chart in Excel, I doubt that anyone could reverse engineer it into a lineage-linked database without, at least, enormous effort or computer resources. Moreover, if it is just a chart, it would lack the evidence on which it is based and, so, it may be little more than fiction. That swid, maybe you could post the file for others to see it and invite anyone to attempt a conversion.

1 Like

Thank you for your response, I appreciate the help from everyone. I will double check with my cousin and see if she wouldn’t mind me posting it here. We’ve spent days on it as I stated above. Loving this group already!