Advice needed about getting started

I’ve been reading the various topics and discussions here and watching videos. Now I find myself feeling overwhelmed by the minutiae and subtilties of RootsMagic. My sources and citations transferred pretty well and are not needing revisions for now, but there are a huge number of sentences that need defining. Can you advise on how to begin without feeling overwhelmed by all I need to learn and do? Creating templates for sentences is especially daunting at the moment.

Welcome Carolyn!

I’m fairly new to using RootsMagic too & can sympathize with you about it being a little overwhelming.

When I face a big, complex challenge, I break it down into smaller, bit-sized chunks. By having little, incremental successes, before long I start to see some progress. Then it starts to seem less daunting.

For example, after downloading my Ancestry tree via TreeShare, I didn’t really like the particular default source template for census records. I wanted to capture more information and structure the citations a little differently. So I created a template more to my liking. Now I’m in the process of converting roughly 1000 citations for census records from 1790 forward. A pretty big task.

But, first I just set an objective to work slowly through the 1790s first, which were fairly small in number. Then reflected on how it went to see if I was still up for the challenge. I was and I’m still gradually making progress.

As a side benefit, going over records again has actually helped me see a few new things I missed the first time.

Try to reframe it from being one giant ‘all I need to learn and do’ into littler pieces of ‘what I want to do next?’ and ‘what progress do I want to achieve next?’ Also enjoy the exploration and new learning you get to do!

And if you get stuck on something, there are lots of nice people here that will give you their insights and suggestions. You’re not alone.