Are sweeping changes better made first in RootsMagic or on Ancestry.com?

I am brand new to RootsMagic (using v.8) and my tree on ancestry.com needs a major clean-up. I have decided to start with me and just include my direct line of grandparents/ancestors instead of including all their siblings and their progeny. Additionally, I made the rookie mistake of including information from other members’ trees and there are a lot of errors that need fixing - hence my back to basics approach. I will go back and fill out the great aunts and uncles et al once I have an accurate base. My question is this - should I do this in RootsMagic first and then treeshare when I am done or should I do it in ancestry first and then share that into Rootsmagic? Of course, I don’t even know how to do either of those things yet, but first things first. I will watch videos and read handouts when I am at that point. I appreciate your help in answering this question first so I know how best to start. If you think I should clean this up differently, please feel free to say what has worked for you and/or point me in the right direction for videos or handouts that will help me once I am ready to move on. Thanks so much.

Best to use software and database on your computer as the master source and upload to ancestry. This keeps your data more under your control. However you are starting from ancestry and RM8 is still pretty rough with bugs so perhaps cleaning up in Ancestry is a good option.

I think you’ll find that editing is much easier in RM. Also, Ancestry won’t be the source of all of your data and RM is definitely easier when adding non Ancestry sources. So I suggest diving in with RM8, making it your master db and doing edits there. It’s true that some folks are experiencing issues but from what we can see in the forums, the vast majority of folks having issues are long time RM users with very large databases.