Choosing which Ancestry tree is used for TreeShare

I have recently inherited my mother’s family history and need to add it to my own research on my father’s side.
I want to collect data from several online trees into one program and have chosen RootsMagic 8. (I am new to the program). TreeShare seemed to work great to share information from my Ancestry tree into RootsMagic, but I have two trees in Ancestry and can’t figure out how to change the tree that TreeShare looks at. It automatically chose the 1st tree on my Ancestry list but the 2nd is actually more important, and much larger.
This all started because one cannot merge trees on Ancestry…any suggestions???

One RM database can only be connected to one Ancestry tree. So the overview of the process you need to follow is as follows.

1. Use TreeShare to download your first Ancestry tree to a new and empty RM database which will be your first RM database. You have already accomplished this step.
  2. Use TreeShare to download your second Ancestry tree to a a new and empty RM database which will be your second RM database.
  3. Copy your first RM database into a third RM database. For this step, use File => Copy.
  4. Copy your second RM database into the third RM database. For this step, use Drag and Drop.
  5. Merge all the duplicate people in your third RM database.

Here are some additional comments.

• TreeShare does not default to which Ancestry tree it connects to when you are first downloading from Ancestry. You have to make a selection. You must have done so without quite realizing that’s what you were doing when you downloaded your first Ancestry tree into your first RM database. When you are downloading your second Ancestry tree into your second RM database, be very careful to choose the other Ancestry tree to be the one you download.
  • RM’s process to merge databases can be very, very time consuming but it does work.