Importing FamilyTreeMaker files into RootsMagic8

I am brand new to RootsMagic with version 8. I was sold on purchasing RootsMagic because of the advertised ability to seamlessly import older versions of FamilyTreeMaker (v.9). Now that I have RootsMagic 8 (after waiting almost 2 years!) I cannot find any way to import FamilyTreeMaker without converting it into a GEDCOM. I purposely did not load RootsMagic 7 because I have a 64-bit Mac (OS 11.2.3) and did not want to deal with the Wrapper. At this point, it appears that the only way I can import my old FamilyTreeMaker files is to use GEDCOM or find someone running RootsMagic 7 and have them import the files so they turn into RootsMagic files and then I can import those. Is this the case or am I missing something?

Go to Create New RootsMagic File>Import From Another Program>FTM 2014 or earlier.

Jerry, I don’t believe that RM8 for Mac has that feature. You can only import from RM versions 4-7, or a gedcom. Virginia is on a Mac.

1 Like

Jerry, are you on Windows or Mac? Because this is my “import” screen:

1 Like

The work around is to Import on pc and copy database to mac. My understanding is that pc/mac were going to be the same. I would also contact RM to see what the deal is with this.

Helen’s screen shot is exactly what I see. Not much. Do I assume that “contact RM” means Technical Support? Thank you both for replying.

Bruce explained in his first Webinar on RootsMagic 8 that the Mac version can’t support importing files from say Legacy or Family Tree Maker because the MacOS doesn’t contain all the other supporting stuff to be able to read Windows database files.

Roger

I’m re-watching the “What’s New in RootsMagic 8” webinar from Oct 1st and at 9:45 in the video the screen clearly shows FamilyTreeMaker as an Import option. Perhaps the misleading part is that this webinar is being done on a PC. I’m giving very low marks for Truth in Advertising to Mac users!