Descendants/Ancestors Group showing bizarre results

Hi. I wonder if anyone can help. I am new to RootsMagic 8 and just discovered the create Groups feature that can be used to filter the People list. However when I select a person and choose to mark all descendants or ancestors of that person I get very little results although I know the person has many ancestors (me for example) or descendants (one of my 4th great grandfathers for example). What might I be doing wrong?

It’s hard to know without being able to watch over your screen over your shoulder, but here are a couple of possibilities.

One possibility is that you might have already been on the person in one of the main views when you went into the dialog to make a group. At some point in that dialog, you would have a Mark button available to you. So you probably chose the Mark button and then selected either the Ancestors or Descendants option. If that’s exactly what you did then you are missing a step.

Namely, it is not sufficient already to be on the person when you initiate the dialog. After you get into the dialog and before you click the Mark button you will be looking a list of people. You need to navigate to your person in that list even though you were already on the correct person when you started the process. The easiest way to do so is usually with the search box that’s below the Mark button.

Another possibility is that after the marking is completed successfully, you fail to click the Select button. But my money is on the first possibility.

If one of these is not it, then I’m all out of ideas.

Hi @thejerrybryan and thanks for taking the time to reply. I think I did exactly what I should have done but I’ll run through my steps to see if you spot something wrong. I am using RootsMagic 8 on a MacBook.