Can I delete what I have done so far

I have just purchased rootsmagic 8, I have never used this program before. I have made several mistakes and my numbers for people are all over the place. (1 - 9, 11, 21, 32, 33, 36, 37, 42, & 47 are all empty) My question is can I delete all and restart? Also, any tips on doing Maternal & Paternal trees? I get so confused. Thank you for any help you can offer to this Newbie!

It would be really nice if RM came with a sample database, like Family Historian does. You can mess around with that in any way that you want and use the built-in option to restore it.
This would give RM users the ability to try things out on a “non-live” db before taking their meathooks to their live db.

1 Like

any file can be deleted and an empty new one created.
perhaps just put that file aside in case you can save some of your data.
if you are new to genealogy apps buy the 2015 RM7 manual from amazon or as a pdf from rootsmagic to get an overview of the old version.
consult the RM8 wiki which is a crude substitute for a real manual but is helpful.

2 Likes

With RM, there is no undo function. You can manually perform an undo by adding back in the things you deleted, by deleting out the things you added, or by changing back the things you changed. And of course, that really isn’t an undo.

With many programs, you can “undo” a session by not saving at the end. But RM saves as it goes and there really isn’t a save at the end.

The other option is that you can make frequent backups. Having made frequent backups, you can restore from a backup that has the data back the way you want it. That more or less accomplishes the undo function without being an actual undo.