Why don't relative folder paths work for media?

Today I had to update my old RM7 file with a bunch of family facts. I’d had my RM7 file created on Windows, today I am on Mac. As you might expect, the file needed a conversion. But the conversion left the media links all broken.

In the first place, it is weird to me that the program can’t figure out by itself that the media links (starting with D:/ Documents/) are broken, and automatically suggest to the user that it can run fix for them. “Would you like the links to be fixed?” Instead, user needs to google and discover there is Link fix tool available in the app, but buried in the settings.

But most importantly, as a web developer, I don’t really understand the whole logic flow in resolving paths (esp. media links) in the application.

I would expect that RootsMagic could consume relative paths for media (and other) folders so that the links work no matter the volume the file is run from. If the path starts with ‘.’ (as in ‘./media’) then the relative path should be resolved. This is how things are done, for example in TypeScript imports.

So I have each instance of a media with absolute path D:/Documents/...., we also have Folder Settings > Media folder, but we also have media link fixer. Hw do they relate to each other, which takes precedence over which? Is there any diagram available

I’d expect that selecting a new Folder settings > Media folder will trigger media rescan and relink of whatever can be found and relinked.

This is total mess and there doesn’t seem to any sane way of managing the links should you need to move the file and assets around and run them from various locations. It’d be sufficient if user could enter ‘./media’ or './media/` as a relative folder path and have the app automatically re-establish the linkage.

Can some logic and UX testing be brought into this product?
As my tree grows, I feel this program to be just inefficient and on the brink of leaving my database unmanageable.