Upgrading to RM9

I have been using RM for over 20 years and am now on RM8. I don’t use all the available options and am happy with my two ongoing files. Now that many of the problems with RM9 seem to have been resolved should I upgrade. I read most of the problem queries and must admit to not understanding many of the complex solutions. Maybe I should install RM9 but leave it unused for a while longer and continue happily with RM8. I’d appreciate any advice.
Bomorob

My only advice is to download RM9 Essentials and try it out before upgrading, especially if you are using TreeShare.

One key aspect of RM9 is the it uses a new sign-in method of OAuth authentication method to connect to Ancestry and FamilySearch which supports two factor authentication; (4-Dec-2023, Important: Upgrade to RootsMagic 9 to continue using FamilySearch and Ancestry features – RootsMagic Blog)

I read that Ancestry will be requiring two factor authentication for Ancestry DNA customers;

“Ancestry is requiring all AncestryDNA customers who want to view their DNA matches to use multi-factor authentication to log into their account. This requirement will go into effect by the end of the year,” said Ancestry spokesperson Gina Spatafore in an email to TechCrunch; (7-Nov-2023, 23andMe data theft prompts DNA testing companies to switch on 2FA by default | TechCrunch)

Other features in RM9 to consider are It’s here! RootsMagic 9! – RootsMagic Blog