Unknown spouses - who wants them?

Hi, Paul here from Ireland. I am new to RM , so apologies but i am plagued with unknown spouses and they refuse to go away, my dad has 3 and my mom 2. Sometimes young children have one. I also have some double names which are identical, I try to delete one of them, and both vanish, try to rename one, both get renamed. This clearly has affected other people. Could someone in the know please explain in simple terms how to sort this out, step by step. I find I am spending more time trying to fix this than I am producing productive work

thanks
Paul

Hi Paul! First for duplicates, in your General Settings, set “number to display” to RIN. This is an internal number set by RM for people. If the duplicate name you see has the same RIN, it is likely an alternate name for the same person. If they are different RIN’s but identical information, the best option is to merge, not delete.
Second, unknown spouses. This can be a result of having downloaded people from a website like Ancestry. Running the database tools can take care of this (see clean phantom records). If this doesn’t clean them up look at how the family group is linked. Particularly how a child is linked to its parents. If a child is linked to only one parent, then a placeholder entry is put in place of the “unknown” other parent. To correct this, link in the “known” parent to the child.

Thanks for quick response, am going into battle!
Paul

I have a question for alainemk. How do you create a placeholder entry for an unknown parent? Thank you so much for any help you can give me.

If I have duplicate children in a list for a family, I first write down the record number the program assigns for the duplicated child. Then I click unlink from parents which will remove both instances of the name which has the same record number in the list. Then relink the child to the family using the record number.