TreeShare Delete Person

Has anyone else noticed that sometimes when you delete a person from your Ancestry tree using TreeShare that person shows up again to be deleted the next time you run TreeShare? I then have to reset TreeShare to get them off the change list. I am using RM11, version 11.5.0.0 and the “Only show changed people” box is checked.

Have you check RM outside of TreeShare and Ancestry online to make sure they are gone?

I am not sure what you mean. After deleting via TreeShare, I have separately logged on to Ancestry and verified the deleted persons were no longer on my Ancestry tree.

1 Like

I have reported two problems that could be what you are experiencing

  1. Sometimes, when I have tried to amend or delete a person in Ancestry from Treeshare, the amendment or deletion has failed. There is no error message or anything, but the change or deletion has not been effected. I almost always use Treeshare the other way around, so I don’t have much experience of this, but I had several problems of this kind with amendments when I used RM to sort out many place name inconsistencies and reflect them back to Ancestry. I don’t understand why this happens. It is apparently rare and I have seen no pattern to it.
  2. Rather more often, when I have tried to amend or delete a person in Ancestry using Treeshare, that amendment or deletion appears to have failed, but has really worked. The problem in this case is that Ancestry is supposed to send an updated record or a record of a deletion back to Treeshare after the update. For some reason, these updates were either not sent, or sent but not received or received but not processed by Treeshare. This is part of a broader problem of this nature. ie there are many other circumstances in which data which Ancestry should have sent to Treeshare is not sent or gets lost in this way. Although this appears much more common than the first type of error, I have also not seen any pattern to explain why it sometimes happens and often does not. In this case, make an amendment to the person in Ancestry if they still exist (eg add and then delete a note) and the correct information should come back to Treeshare. Obviously, you can’t do this if the person really has been deleted. In that case, you probably either have to live with a phantom record in Treeshare or run ‘Reset Treeshare’ from the ‘Settings’/‘Webhints’ tab. However, if you have a big file, Treeshare will take a long time the next time you run it. (I have 68,000 people and it took >90 minutes.)

I will assume you already deleted the person in RM so that is why you want to delete the person on Ancestry. If they are no longer on the Ancestry website but a phantom of them is showing up in Treeshare again the best thing to do is use “Reset TreeShare” on the Settings page under WebHints. Just make sure they aren’t for some reason reappearing on the Ancestry tree online again. If they keep reappearing even if you deleted them online with Ancestry you will need to speak with their support.

1 Like