Sources - Problem Adding New Sources

As a Mac user I am new to RootsMagic and have been following the webinars and then having a go with my own file. When adding a new source using a template or free form and the data entry window opens I only see the top sections. The footnote section at the bottom when the Footnote, short Footnote and Bibliography should appear are missing. Does anybody know what I may have done to cause this ore how to put it right?

It’s hard to know what the problem is for sure without seeing a screenshot of your RM when you encounter the problem. But a good guess is that the Footnote sentences are really there, but they are scrolled off the bottom of the Edit Person screen.

Linda1,

You are not doing anything wrong. With the last update, RM decided to remove that section from the Master Source Screen and now it only appears on the Citation Screen. The reasoning was that because you can “Customize” this area, you should only be able to see it at the Citation Level with all fields populated. They said customize feature was causing problems from that Screen. I said, "Don’t put that link on that Screen. Their reasoning also was “You don’t need it on the Master Source Screen if you do not have any Citations to it.”

I had argued for its presence there during beta and that is how it showed up. I have continued to argue for its return to the Master Source Screen, and it is being considered. My reasons for wanting it there are threefold. I am a sever splitter of Sources, and as such, very few of my Citations have any details beyond a page number. I customize ALL of my Source Templates, and I often enter Sources in Batches before adding any Citations.

When designing Templates, it is very useful to have the Template Formatting live on the Master Source Screen. Now to do my testing I have to create a phony Citation, then move from the Source to the Citation Screen to see my inputs on the Source Screen.