Rootsmagic 7 on new computer with Rootsmagic 8

My husband has moved RM 8 and family file to our new computer using a flash drive. I am uncomfortable with doing away with RM 7 at this point, for one I use it to type notes and paste to RM 8.

Can RM 7 be moved to the new computer and remain separate from RM8?

When moving RM 8 there were some confusing directions, such as naming the file. Should the file be named the same as it was on the old computer? Also, it gave directions to register. RM 8 was already registered last Oct. What is the best answer?

Also, should we move it with drop box or ???

I have no experience in these procedures. Thanks much, Caroline

Yes.

Basically you can move RM7 the same way you already moved RM8 and it will remain separate.

Download RM7 software on the new computer and install it on the new computer using your RM7 key.

Copy your RMGC database to the new computer.

I don’t know whether you need to copy media files or not because you may be using the same media files on RM7 as on RM8.

1 Like

Thanks so much for your answer.
My RM 8 is already registered and I will also move it to the laptop. What choice do I use when given the choice of registering now or later?

Do I use the same file name as on the old computer?

In the process of moving RM8 we somehow uploaded the file twice. Having both will lead to mistakes such as adding some info to one, some to the other. How do I delete one of the files - they are identical?

I have searched this community and the wiki for answers to all the above. My apologies if I have asked a question that has already been answered.

Caroline

Yes, and there is some strong reason to change the file name on the new computer, and there usually isn’t such a reason.