Gender Change -- best practices?

Hello, everyone. Yes I’m new here – though I’ve been doing this stuff (just for my family) for at least thirty years now (started with Roots III!).

Yesterday, I realized that I needed to account for the recent gender change of a family member. I tried to search for “best practices” for documenting such an event – both here and in other genealogy forums. Found only one discussion on the matter (in the Ancestry message boards); everyone was pretty-much spitballing ideas about it. I’m not sure there is a “best practice” on this matter, so far.

Well, I came up with something. I’d like to share it, so that (a) other bewildered people might be able to use it and (b) others might be able to improve on it. Here goes …

From my POV, the “ideal” database would make “gender” a non-permanent aspect of a person’s record. “M/F from xxxx to yyyy; F/M from yyyy to [zzzz or present-day].” While that may happen someday, it ain’t happenin’ now. So – what to do?

For everyone’s info, the hack I pulled together yesterday, after my search, goes like this:

1. Assign the person the post-change gender (if already in the database, change gender from birth-gender to new gender)
  2. In the person’s profile, add a new “fact” that I have created: “Gender Change - Legal Date” (see image, below)

In this case, the “date” I entered was the date on which the court approved the person’s petition. “Place” was the town in which the court is located. “Place details” was the name of the court (the type of court), e.g., “Circuit Court, [name of county]”

In the description, I described the person’s previous status:

“Born male, as [birth name]. Gender changed under law on this date.”

I don’t yet have a Sentence Template for it. Maybe I’ll do that, some day.

This case is simplified by the fact that the person had not already had children. If they had, reports etc could get messy. (“Did this child really have two birth-mothers?”)