Can you make certain files, people and notes private in RM?

I purchase RM several years ago but really didn’t use it that much and was using Family Tree Maker more often, however I find that lately I like the RM setup better in some ways. Is there a way to privatize people and notes as there is in FTM and Ancestry.

If the person is marked Living then Ancestry will keep them private. With Notes only the initial upload has the option to not include them.

What about the {privacy} braces in Notes? Are they uploaded? If not, does Compare ignore them and what’s in-between?

Ancestry API doesn’t recognize them so they are not kept private.

It is the RM software’s responsibility to restrict transmission or export of content that the user has set as private through the software’s user interface.

For Compare, it is the program’s responsibilty to remove the content marked private from the comparison function.

4 Likes

Hi everyone - I had a similar question - I’m new to RootsMajic (converting from Family Historian7). I like the linking feature to Ancestry (truthfully, it’s the biggest reason I switched).

Is there an automated way to manage the media files being uploaded to Ancestry. I see the private button on the Events, but I don’t see one for Media.

For example, I have my birth certificate saved on my software and do not want it uploaded to an online database for obvious reasons. Is there a way not to have that specific media uploaded. Basically, is there an option to not upload media to Ancestry other than through the matching process.

Thanks