1950 Census, Others on Record

I am totally new to Roots Magic 9 and trying to figure out best practices, how to and so on. I’m sure I’m messing up here and there, but that’s okay. I’ll fix what I can. In the grand scheme of things I’m the only one who cares in the long run.

The situation is this: In the 1950 census, I have my grandfather and family at the time. I’m entering the census under him as head and then sharing with others on the census. The kicker is that there is another family living with them at the time. Normally, I could pretend and bypass them, however, either the father or the son impregnated my aunt and my cousin was born. My cousin was named exactly like my grandmother.

There was no marriage. My aunt was mentally challenged.

How should I document this? Everyone is deceased that played any part in it.

1 Like

Hoping I understand what you are saying .
First , I was would use the Census and record the facts as the census taker took them with the “Role” and household info. 2nd you can record additional info in the note - but you then should have a separate source and record the person or info where that came from. Censuses can have missing info and mistakes – which is relatively common. This often is due the the person providing info as well as the census taker who took the info

1 Like

My way of handling this situation would be to proceed entering the census as you have done, although I do not use shared facts but instead give each individual their own Census fact. I would then add this other family in the Census note for the head of household. I might say something like "Additional people living in the household were: John Doe, age 43, Jane Doe, age 42, etc …