Family Search Login Information

Hello all,

Apologies if this question has been raised prior - I’ve looked on the board and can’t seem to see a discussion about this query.

I’ve just gone to link a person in my tree to Family Search and once I’ve logged in the following message appears:

I’ve not received this message prior so I’m wondering:

• is this message just “formalising” the situation and RM was always accessing and saving data about living and deceased ancestors, or
  • is RM now using information from our trees in a new / novel way? If so, what was the reason for the change?

I’m not very tech savvy, and the fact that there hasn’t been discussion about this (as far as I can see and understand) leads me to believe that RM accessing and saving our information in this way is “acceptable”.

Could someone please provide their thoughts.

RM has changed the authorization process because FamilySearch has forced it. RM is doing nothing that it hasn’t been doing since the functionality was first introduced. If you think about it, RM has to be able to ‘save’ your information in order link/add it to your file. It does not mean they are grabbing all of your info and storing it on their servers someplace, for nefarious purposes.

1 Like

You are basically giving permission for FamilySearch to send Family Tree (FT) data to be viewed inside the FamilySearch Person Tools (FSPT) screen in RootsMagic. There are different levels of Family Tree Access. RootsMagic is able to read and write to Family Tree.

“Know your basic FamilySearch profile information”
This information was needed prior to the new login. We used to store your FamilySearch username and password. In RM 9.1.0 and later we no longer do. So FamilySearch will need to update that permissions screen. They probably won’t while RM7 and RM8 users are accessing FamilySearch the old way.

“Access and save data about your living and deceased ancestors from your Family Tree”