Yorkshire England

Hi folks
I’m new at this game my problem is how do I enter addresses for Yorkshire England. Yorkshire was split into ridings a lot of my ancestors come from Yorkshire so do I enter the address as Bingley, West Riding of Yorkshire, England, United Kingdom. Any help would be most Appreciated
Richdoe

I live in Yorkshire and also have a lot of entries for ancestors from ‘God’s own county’.
Basically yes as you propose, although I prefer to use e.g. Bingley, Yorkshire (West Riding) etc so that all places sort as Yorkshire first. Just when you think you have got it sorted then you will find that lots of places have shifted from one Riding (usually the West, but sometimes from the East) to another (usually the North). There is now also South Yorkshire, created in 1972 from parts of the West Riding. Bingley as you may know is now part of the Bradford Metropolitan Borough
of West Yorkshire.
All this makes it sensible to enter a standardised contemporary place name in addition to whatever it was at the time of the event/fact.

For conciseness I use W Yorkshire. When looking at sources listed in reverse and searched for Yorkshire, they will line up in their NSEW groupings.

In my note for the event I will record what county description was given. But my place will be converted to modern mapping county name. Sometimes for the place I will add a note from Wikipedia or JewishGen describing the history of the changes of name or county.

Thank you very much for your info Using Bingley, Yorkshire (West Riding) makes sense to me
Once again many Thanks
Richdoe