Where to store to database?

I am new to RM and so V9 is just in time. I intend to download my Ancestry tree that I created with Family Tree Maker (and uploaded to Ancestry) into RM9. I want to be able to work on the the RM9 file while at my desktop and on my laptop when I am at the library. Simple question: Where should I store the database file? In the cloud? Or can I store it on my desktop and just sync my laptop with Ancestry?

Thanks in advance,

You are probably going to get conflicting answers.

First of all, there is a sense in which nothing is “stored in the cloud”. There may be exceptions, but all the cloud syncing software which I’m familiar with stores your data in a special folder on your hard disk (at least while you are working on it) and then sync the data from from that special folder on your hard disk with a second copy of that folder in the cloud. If you have a second computer, there is a copy of the same special folder on the second computer’s hard disk that is synched with the same copy in the cloud. This has the practical effect of syncing three copies - first computer’s copy, cloud’s copy, and second computer’s copy. The first computer only works on the first computer’s copy an the second computer only works on the second computer’s copy.

Assuming all this sort of just works, you have to give the two computers and the cloud sufficient time to sync up any time you switch between computers.