Saving data VERY slow on large database

Greetings! I am a relatively new RM user (version 9) and enjoy it. I bought it because it makes it easy to sync with my Ancestry Tree, including media.

I’ve been working on my family tree passionately for 30+ years (starting in the old PAF 2.31 and FTM Broderbund days) and am fortunate to live in the same area where generations of my ancestors have lived for centuries. So a big part of my work is keeping current on all their descendant branches using newspaper obituaries and other local resources. I also merged my data with that of a now-deceased cousin some years ago who was just as passionate about the work. As a result, I have a VERY large, active database – approximately 406,000 individuals at present.

NOW, the problem. When I open up an “Edit Person” page and make changes (adding a middle name, a death date, etc.) and then click “Close,” I have a lag of about 20-30 seconds where the screen is entirely “frozen” until the data is updated and I can proceed to click on something else. Obviously, this is a considerable pain and slows down the data entry process.

I’ve already turned off every web hint option, as well as the automatic FamilySearch and/or Ancestry syncing options. I’ve turned off the options to enable FamilySearch support and Show problem alerts on individuals. Turning all of those features off has gotten me to my current speed.

Some specs – I am using a Lenovo ideaPad laptop with an Intel(R) Core™ i5-8250U CPU @ 1.60GHz 1.80 GHz, with 8.00 GB of installed RAM. It is a 64-bit operating system with x64-based processor. I am using Windows 11 Home version 22H2. The laptop only has a 117 GB SSD hard drive, so my database resides on a My Passport external hard drive with a capacity of 931 GB which has 350 GB free space. The RM database is 476,524 KB in size at present. I’ve not yet downloaded the latest RM update (9.0.7.0).