Bulk loading fact sentences

I’m brand new to RM but excited to start using it because of the concept of “fact sentences”. My “database” for the past 15+ years has been an MS Word file (yeah, you read that right) containing a chronological list of fact sentences. Each sentence contains the person(s) involved, many of them have places, and almost all have one or more endnote citations. I’ve even tried to enforce a consistent syntax for the sentences by type: guardian bond, estate account, will, marriage, etc. I currently have roughly 9K facts covering 2K persons. In parallel, I’ve been manually maintaining a family tree on Ancestry to help me visualize relationships. This brute force hybrid approach has been the most effective in helping me de-dupe people with the same name living at the same time in close geo proximity, which has been my biggest challenge. But, now it’s time to join the 21st century.

I know how to load my Ancestry tree into RM, and I’m going through the tedious process of mapping events to the primary person’s ID from Ancestry. I can then use RM’s UI to flesh out associations, and other cool stuff. But, first I need to get my facts into RM.

Ideally, I would like to bulk upload my facts, the fact-to-person mapping, and the fact-to-source/citation link. Is this possible? Is there any developer documentation on how to do this via SQL?

Thanks in advance!

SQL manipulation of the database is not supported by the vendor.

I’m fluent in using SQLite in association with RM, and I think I would find your project to be extremely difficult. Let’s take the facts first.

You can’t simply bulk load facts because facts can’t exist in RM (or really in any genealogy software) unless they are linked to a person. So the bulk loading of facts would have to include loading the fact-to-person mappings at the same time. The considerations for bulk loading the sources and citations are similar.