Ancestry or RM 8 Source Citations

I don’t know why (and I don’t think I am alone) but I have an unnatural fear of source citations! I’ve been working on my genealogy for many years but only started using RM about 3 years ago. I want to set a goal to make sure I have all my sources and citations done “correctly”. I have a copy of Evidence Explained and some other books but I can never find a template for some things I’m looking for. This just tends to heighten my frustration. Before I get deeper into the source templates in RM I have a question. Is there a reason to “convert” Ancestry citations to the RM templates and, if so, why? I have tons of data I’ve gotten from Ancestry (and, now, MyHeritage). Should I be concerned about “re-formatting” their sources to the RM format? I’m really interested in the thoughts of those in this group if you will take the time to present them.

I do all my RM data entry by hand, even if it is coming from ancestry. That includes the names and facts, the sources and citations, and the media files. I use TreeShare for WebHints but not to bring data into RM automatically, so my situation is different from yours. I don’t have any citations coming in from ancestry that might need to be converted.

I guess if I was letting data come into RM from ancestry via TreeShare, I would just leave the citations as they were. Otherwise, you almost might as well do your data entry by hand the same way I do.

It’s not quite as automated as TreeShare and ancestry, but most genealogy sites these days will give you a ready made citation that you can just copy and paste into RM or any other genealogy program. The problem is that the ready made citation is already complete and RM expects you to fill in individual fields so that it can construct the citation for you. There is no good place to paste such a completed citation into RM. I think there is sort of a conflict there that I’m not sure how best to resolve.