People Screen Group Filter

I find the People View on the main People screen is good for drilling down to individuals, made better by being able to filter the list by group. When I close RM and then subsequently re-open again the filter is automatically re-set to ‘Show Everyone’, which is a little annoying. I don’t know what other users think, but I would like RM to retain the filter I was working with when I finished my last session.

2 Likes

This is the default since RM doesn’t know IF you have any groups OR what their names are.

I do not know the behind the scene operations of Names of Groups to suggest how it could be done.

But RM DOES know if you have groups because in the Enhanced Properties list is ‘No of Groups’, and it DOES know what their names are otherwise you wouldn’t be able to use them.

I think that is a reasonable and deliverable enhancement request. RM does keep track in its database the Record Number of the focus person when it was closed, in a table named ConfigTable. That’s essential for the General Settings > Start Person option to open the database “on the last person highlighted when you last closed this database”. @rzamor1

Personally, I prefer that it closes and not remember the group I last filtered the People List view or the sidebar too. The reason is because we already have an enhancement request to not remember the last group filtered on the FamilySearch Person Tools. It becomes an issue when you try to open to someone on the FamilySearch Person Tools and it goes to the top of the list instead. That’s because they have it filtered to a group, and the person they wanted wasn’t in that group.

I think if we remembered the last group on the People List view we would have the same support issue. People telling us someone they entered into the database is no longer there. But, instead they have a filter on that isn’t showing them. If you put the filter on during the current session you are much more apt to remember why it’s not showing someone you’re searching for.

There’s a solution to that. If the Start Person is in the Group, it opens on the Start Person and the Group. If the Start Person is not in the Group, open on the Start Person and Show Everyone, OR open a dialog saying the Start Person is not in the Group so which do you want?

1 Like

Renee, fair enough - it was just an idea! No worries.

Steve